Museum Association

Photo of the Weatherspoon Art Museum building

"Amplifying the voice of the Weatherspoon Art Museum and the visual arts in the cultural conversation of our community."

Since its inception as the Friends of Weatherspoon Gallery in 1942, the Museum Association has fulfilled the above mission by providing crucial guidance, funding, and volunteer time to the Weatherspoon. The Association, which is a certified non-profit organization, serves in an advisory and support capacity to the museum director and staff. Through its membership program, individual giving, and special fundraising events, the Association funds acquisitions, exhibitions, marketing initiatives, public receptions, and other museum projects, and operates the Museum Store. The Weatherspoon Guild served as an affiliate volunteer organization from 1964 through 2001, when the Association and the Guild merged to consolidate support efforts and activities.

Board members are elected to serve three-year terms and can be re-elected for an additional three years. The slate of nominations is offered for approval by the museum membership at its annual meeting in May. The Board meets four times per year, with its Executive Committee meeting in the interim months and additionally as needed. Standing Committees include Acquisitions, Annual Meeting, Education, Finance, Governance, Hospitality, Membership, Special Events, and Volunteers; ad hoc committees are organized for specific projects. With the exception of the Acquisitions Committee, which is chaired by the museum director, all committees are chaired by a board member and include both board and non-board members. If interested, please see the volunteer page.

Weatherspoon Museum Association Board of Directors 2018-2022:



Terri Maultsby, President
Hillary Meredith, Past President
Carrie Stewart, Secretary
Eric Wisco, Treasurer
Lauren Cox, Assistant Treasurer

Life Directors:

Barbara Boulton

Carol Cole Levin
Joan Gregory
Jackie Humphrey

Jane Levy

Judy Proctor

Beatrice Schall
Deborah Schandler
Flo Snider

Susan Veazey
Sarah Warmath
Florence Young


Board of Directors:

Serve through May 2019


Margaret Benjamin

Jeb Brooks

Nancy Bryan

Katherine Davey

Joe Hoesl

Lisa Johnson

Hillary Meredith


Serve through May 2020


Nancy Beaver

David Craft

Frankie Jones, Jr.

Erica Procton

Marta Tornero






Serve through May 2021

Pamela Coote

Victoria Carlin Milstein

Carrie Stewart


Serve through May 2022

Gina Alem

Rebecca Buffington

Katie Cone

Annelise Conway

Lewis Dancy

Erin Jeffries

Terri Maultsby

Maggie Triplette

Rachel Walker

Eric Wisco



Nancy Doll, Director

Dana Dunn, Provost

Chris Cassidy, Director, UNCG Art Department

Charles Maimone, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs

Annette Vaden Holesh, President, UNCG Alumni Association

Kris Davidson, Vice Chancellor, University Advancement